Artist Spotlight #19

image

Our

antepenultimate

spotlight!

ymiiac.tumblr.com

We feel incredibly lucky that so many talented artists have agreed to share their work to be featured in our book, including YMIIAC. The piece, of which you can see a sneak peek in the picture above, draws us in through the emotions it evokes. We are amazed at how strongly this piece reflects the love that Clarke and Lexa share for one another, as well as the unique softness that is so often hidden by our two badass, war-fighting, world-saving girls. 

YMIIAC gives us so many soft Clexa moments we could’ve had but never got to enjoy on the show, and we’re so grateful for for her art and the fact that we can include it in the Clexa Fanart book!

What is it about Clarke and Lexa that inspired you?

They have such dreamy parallels that I’m a sucker for, the sky
and ground/space and earth one being my favorite + the way they don’t
even need dialogue, you can see everything they never dare to say
through their eyes.


What is your favorite piece that you’ve done (for any fandom)? 

I haven’t done much at all haha so this one for now! I want to continue the “Smol sketches” thing and make more too. 


How long have you been drawing? 

Since kindergarten.


What is your favorite Clexa moment? 

Every time Lexa looks at her/The Bow™.


Is there any feature on either girl that gives you the most problems when drawing them? 

Eliza’s eyes and face shape? Alycias everything honestly she’s so hard. 


Can you briefly describe your process in creating these pieces? 

I rough sketch it and after the Earth takes a few laps around the Sun and canon material ends I finally go around finishing it. I’m always late!


Do you create art outside of fandom?  And if so, what do you enjoying drawing/painting most?

Yes, I’m an illustration student; watercolor illustrations, pencil drawings and sketching people in general!


How did you learn how to draw? 

I’ve been doing it since I was a kid so I don’t remember, and I’ve been learning ever since it’s a never ending process.

Do you have a ritual or have something “indispensable” that you need when drawing (music, object, etc)? 

A comfortable atmosphere and music definitely. Ideally- to be alone as well.


Do you mull over your drawing ideas, do sketches, re-draw or are you more
of an “instinctive” artist who lets inspiration flow freely? 

I wish was a an “instinctive” artist, but I’ve been living with an art block for years and it takes quite a bit of brainstorming and sketching until I’m happy, I’m very jealous of those types ! 

Leave a comment